Les Jardins des Patriotes

© Jimmy Chicaiza
  • Start Date : 2 Sep 2015
  • End Date: Ongoing

Les Jardins des Patriotes is a greening, embellishing and food production project at Louis-Joseph-Papineau School with three major scopes to it’s goal – social, educational and environmental. The project comprises of four zones: a fruit tree orchard, a green rest area for school personnel, an artistic garden featuring works made with reused objects and a food production garden adjacent to an educational garden for children. The surface area of the garden is 300 m2 and about 30 fruit trees are found in the orchard.

In the framework of the educational component of the project, students in a special work preparation program are trained in urban agriculture and landscaping in order for them to be able to reintegrate the job market in their respective fields. The educational approach is similar to the one used in environmental education where learning is achieved through interdisciplinary projects that include all subject matters. In-class workshops are taught in collaboration with Ça pousse!, a program of the NDG Food Depot.

One of the environmental objectives of this project is to aim for a system based on circular economy. Hence, organic matter from the gardens is composted, seedlings are started in class, harvested produced is transformed in the kitchens on-site, other produce is sold at the market, and an effort is made to reuse objects as much as possible. By greening the schoolyard, the project contributes to the fight against urban heat islands and to carbon dioxide sequestration in the neighborhood. A wildflower patch has also been planted in order to create habitat for pollinators. The environmental component of the project is supported by the éco-quartier Saint-Michel/François-Perrault et le Pari Saint-Michel.

Finally, the social aspect of the project involves summer job creation for local youth in the gardens and at the Saint-Michel Solidarity Market. Volunteer opportunities are also offered in the gardens during the summer in order to allow members of the community to fight social exclusion and isolation. Partners of the project are also involved in a food production garden project in order to improve access to healthy produce through the Saint-Michel Solidarity Market.

Contact & Connect


Locations

Project Team

Back to Top

Les Jardins des Patriotes

© Jimmy Chicaiza
  • Date de début : 2 sept. 2015
  • Date de fin: En cours

Les Jardins des Patriotes est un projet de verdissement, d’embellissement et de culture maraîchère sur le terrain de l’école Louis-Joseph-Papineau. Le but répond à trois visées, soit: sociale, pédagogique et environnementale. Il y a quatre zones dédiées au projet, soit: un verger d’arbres fruitiers, une aire de repos verte pour le personnel de l’école, un jardin Art-Terre d’embellissement par des œuvres artistiques en objets récupérés et un jardin maraîcher productif annexé à un jardin éducatif pour les enfants. La superficie du potager est de 300 m2 et le verger compte une trentaine d’arbres fruitiers.

Dans le cadre du volet pédagogique du projet, les élèves en formation préparatoire au travail (FPT) sont formés en agriculture urbaine et en aménagement paysager afin de pouvoir intégrer des emplois liés à ces secteurs. L’approche pédagogique utilisée répond aux objectifs liés à l’éducation relative l’environnement par l’apprentissage par projet interdisciplinaire, où toutes les matières y sont travaillées. Les ateliers en classe sont animés en collaboration avec le programme Ça Pousse! du Dépôt alimentaire NDG.

L’économie circulaire est visée par le compostage des matières organiques du jardin, la plantation de semis démarrés en serres en classe, la cueillette, la transformation alimentaire en atelier de cuisine, la vente des produits au marché et la récupération d’objets. En verdissant la cour de l’école, le projet contribue à la lutte contre les îlots de chaleur urbains et à la séquestration du dioxyde de carbone dans le quartier. Un espace fleuri permet également de fournir un habitat pour les insectes pollinisateurs. Le volet environnemental du projet est appuyé par l’éco-quartier Saint-Michel/François-Perrault et le Pari Saint-Michel.

Finalement, le volet social du projet implique la création d’emplois d’été pour les jeunes du quartier aux jardins et au Marché solidaire Saint-Michel. Des possibilités de bénévolat aux jardins sont également offertes durant l’été, afin de permettre aux membres de la communauté de vaincre l’exclusion sociale et l’isolement. Les acteurs du projet sont également impliqués dans un projet de jardins maraîchers afin d’améliorer l’accès à des produits de qualité par le biais Marché solidaire Saint-Michel.

Contactez et Connectez


Localisation

Équipe du projet

Back to Top