Environmental Stewardship Program (PIE)

, ,
(c) S. Montigné
  • Start Date : 1 Jan 2007
  • End Date: Ongoing

A registered charitable organization founded in 1986, Les amis de la montagne’s network includes citizens from a variety of associations allied with the heads of philanthropic foundations and company presidents. Les amis de la montagne exists to protect and enhance Mount Royal through community involvement and environmental education. Through its advocacy initiatives, education and awareness-raising activities, as well as enhancement and improvement projects, Les amis de la montagne provides the community with the opportunity to exchange ideas and become involved in the preservation of Mount Royal.

They established an environmental stewardship program (PIE) in 2007 to build a more thorough understanding of the ecosystem of Mount Royal using their 25-year experience in leadership and volunteer involvement with the community, as well as longstanding partnerships with the City of Montreal and large institutional property owners on the mountain. But first and foremost, the PIE responds to the request for Montrealers to get involved in protecting their environment, providing meaningful gestures to safeguard the future of the planet.

Environmental activities include planting trees and shrubs of native species, monitoring the growth and survival of planted trees, cutting and removing buckthorn, and maintaining young trees in their educational nursery. All proposed activities are supervised by professionals and are approached scientifically to document important research, improving knowledge and understanding of methods of intervention in the natural environment.

Gallery



Locations

Project Team

Back to Top

Programme d’intendance environnementale (PIE)

, ,
(c) S. Montigné
  • Date de début : 1 janv. 2007
  • Date de fin: En cours

Organisme de bienfaisance enregistré fondé en 1986, Les amis de la montagne rassemblent des individus, des associations, des chefs de file de la communauté et des dirigeants de fondations à caractère philanthropique qui ont pour mission de protéger et mettre en valeur le mont Royal en privilégiant l’engagement de la communauté et l’éducation à l’environnement. À travers leurs initiatives pour la défense des intérêts, leurs activités d’éducation et de sensibilisation et leurs projets d’amélioration et de mise en valeur, Les amis de la montagne offrent à la communauté l’occasion de s’exprimer et prendre part à la préservation du mont Royal.

Le programme d’intendance environnementale (PIE) qu’ils ont mis sur pied en 2007 s’est bâti sur une connaissance approfondie de l’écosystème du mont Royal, une expérience de 25 ans en matière d’encadrement de bénévoles et d’implication de la communauté, et des liens de partenariat de longue date avec la Ville de Montréal et les grands propriétaires institutionnels sur la montagne. Mais d’abord et avant tout, le PIE répond à une demande des Montréalais de s’impliquer dans la protection de l’environnement, en posant des gestes significatifs pour l’avenir de la planète.

Les activités environnementales incluent : la plantation d’arbres et arbustes d’espèces indigènes, le suivi de la croissance et de la survie des arbres plantés, la coupe de nerprun cathartique et l’entretien des jeunes arbres de leur pépinière éducative. Toutes les activités proposées sont encadrées par des professionnels et s’inscrivent dans une démarche scientifique et de recherche qui permet d’améliorer les connaissances et les méthodes d’intervention sur les milieux naturels.

Galerie



Localisation

Équipe du projet

Back to Top