• Start Date : 1 Jan 2014
  • End Date: Ongoing

Mange-Trottoir attracts, gathers, informs, educates and inspires the local and international community. It meets the needs of a city that is redeveloping on a human scale to address urban greening, citizen engagement, ecological agriculture, and the reduction of urban heat islands.

Initially launched by a neighborhood resident, the project is the end result of a collective reflection involving several members of the community. In spring 2014 they got the idea to grow sidewalk container gardens at the corner of de Castelnau and Drolet streets in Villeray, Montreal, and since then the project has really taken shape. The group rolled up their sleeves and have built what is one of the most lush and collaborative green urban agricultural projects in Montreal. Several containers are neatly arranged on the sidewalks on both sides of the street, containing a variety of edible and native plants, to the delight of residents who come to take their pick. In addition, social and educational group activities are regularly offered around the edible sidewalk gardens.

Financed primarily by residents through plant sales and with the help of the Villeray éco-quartier, UQAM and the Montreal Urban Ecology Centre—this project creates great opportunities for local residents to connect with each other and discuss agriculture.

Contact & Connect


Locations

Project Team

Back to Top

• Date de début : 1 janv. 2014
  • Date de fin: En cours

Le Mange-Trottoir attire, rassemble, informe, éduque et inspire tant la communauté locale qu’internationale. Il répond aux orientations d’une ville qui se redéveloppe à une échelle plus humaine par le verdissement urbain, l’engagement citoyen, l’agriculture écologique et la réduction des ilots de chaleur urbains.

Initié au départ par un résident du quartier, c’est à l’issue d’un processus de réflexion collective regroupant plusieurs citoyens à l’hiver 2014 que l’idée de cultiver les saillies de trottoirs à l’intersection des rues de Castelnau et Drolet, dans le quartier Villeray à Montréal, a réellement pris forme. Dès l’arrivée du printemps 2014, le collectif s’est retroussé les manches et a aménagé ce qui est devenu aujourd’hui l’un des plus citoyens et luxuriants projets d’agriculture urbaine écologique à Montréal. Plusieurs jardinières en bois et plantebandes au design soigné sont disposés dans les saillies de part et d’autre de la rue, contenant une panoplie de plantes comestibles et indigènes, et ce, au grand plaisir des résidents qui viennent y faire leur cueillette. Des activités collectives sont régulièrement proposées sur ce trottoir comestible où les dimensions sociale et pédagogique occupent une place centrale.

Le projet a été en majeure partie financé par les citoyens au moyen de ventes de plantes – et avec l’aide de l’éco-quartier Villeray, de l’UQAM et du CEUM – ce projet est avant tout une occasion pour les résidents du quartier de créer des liens entre eux et d’échanger sur le thème de l’agriculture.

Contactez et Connectez


Localisation

Équipe du projet

Back to Top